Career Solstice: The Good Times

Midsummer's Eve
Midsummer’s Eve

How do you know it’s mid-summer, June 21, in a career? How do you know it is Solstice?

  • Favor at work with supervisors and coworkers
  • Vibrant green finances: good salary, great perks, and fantastic benefits
  • Status symbols: cars, jewelry, season tickets to exclusive events
  • High regard as a producer: awards, plaques, honors, trophies and trips
  • High regard as a citizen in the community: owner of “ground beneath my bed”, leader of the “movers and shakers”, busy and constantly sought out
  • Enough to eat and to provide to others
  • Popularity: business in a growth phase, relationships/networks deep and wide
  • “All is well” in the soul

These are some of the manifestations of the abundant, verdant mid-summer in life and in a career. This is when Life spreads a joyous feast and we roll in her gracious lap, privileged to plunge both our whole hands in the deep cream and stuff ourselves silly.

I remember in the early days at my very first professional job when I was a new-hire just out of university. I haughtily gazed out of the painted-shut kitchen windows of my first rented apartment and dared dream of owning a condo on the East Side of Providence, Rhode Island with a view of the river. All was as it should be. I walked down the street from my good-salaried job at the end of working days to a lavishly appointed restaurant with the dark, medieval feel I prized and fearlessly ordered Black Angus steak cooked exactly the way I liked it as if I were a Tudor in exile.

Having inherited AAA credit from my mom, who was a homeowner, I observed how she managed the household’s money. That is why I had the awareness to save and my financial “pile” grew very well. However,only a few months later my fortune suddenly changed at work, and my “pile” shriveled like a fallen leaf. Nobody instructed me how to protect myself; nobody shared my sorrow; nobody caught me when I fell like a weevil-infested bud.

